And a Song Will Guide Me

For me, music is this hugely emotional thing that really sets the tone for my day.

Growing up I’ve noticed that certain songs just really pull an emotion out of me whether I want them to or not. And while I love music (I’m one of those people that can’t be in a car without the radio on) unfortunately I’ve discovered that certain songs can actually be HUGE triggers for me.

Some of them have memories attached to them, but some of them just hit me in the most raw uncontrollable way. Sometimes songs I love can develop into triggers and I have to start avoiding them.

And of course there are far more bad triggers than good. How easy would life be if all I needed to do was listen to an upbeat song to suddenly feel renewed and all-powerful?

I’m just wondering, is this true for anyone else?

Here is a list of some of the songs I’ve identified as triggers. Obviously, if your brain works like this then these could be triggers for you. On the flipside, usually the songs that do this to me are beautiful and maybe even a little worth it. Since I’m too cheap to make it so videos can actually be inserted in this post, I will list the artist/song name then a YouTube link if one so exists.

Sia: Breathe Me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFGvmrJ5rjM&list=PLB576A4CF0648965B&index=7&feature=plpp_video

The White Birch: Breathe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxZG62y07lY&feature=BFa&list=PLB576A4CF0648965B

Ane Brun: This Voice

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKg2U_PVvoc&feature=BFa&list=PLB576A4CF0648965B

Youth: Daughter

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEpMj-tqixs&feature=BFa&list=PLB576A4CF0648965B

Ellie Goulding: Hanging On

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLbRpObZFGQ&feature=BFa&list=PLB576A4CF0648965B

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeneralinsanity
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 21:02:06

    That happens to me too. Music, no matter what type, has the power to influence my mood like no other.
    For instance: Irish rock music makes me extremely hyper and I want to kick things. For no reason other than the sake of kicking things. Anything hard rock/metal makes me feel sad/mad and stabby. I’m not a fan, but The Manchild is. Sesame street makes me happy and stabby. The old school “hip-hop/rap” jams of the ’80’s and ’90’s make me nostalgic and take me back to the very fleeting memories I have before motherhood (back when life was easier because I only had to worry about keeping one person alive instead of 4. 5 if you count Manchild). Old country music makes me feel silly for some reason. Like: I want to act out old scenes from Hee-Haw. But I love it.
    Needless to say, at any given time you could walk into my house and hear “Baby Got Back”, “I Fall to Pieces”, or something by The Young Dubliners. And depending on the soundtrack, you may or may not have a damn good time.

    Reply

    • psychofab
      Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:05:04

      I see a “stabby” theme in your mood lol There’s a few songs that make me feel pretty upbeat, but for the most part it seems they mostly trigger a sad mood. Also, ” Baby Got Back” is the song I had my wedding party dance to at my wedding. Excellent choice lol

      Reply

  2. nosleepandcrazy
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 05:17:56

    My mom says that every morning when she came in from work to get me for school, she could tell the mood I was in just by the music I was playing. I had one of those big stereos and I would blast it since my mom had a part time job and I was alone in the house at 6ish in the morning. She knew if metal was playing I was going to be pissed off and quiet on the way to school and if happy up beat music was playing I would be a chatter box,

    Reply

    • psychofab
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 08:59:04

      I’m pretty much the same way. If I’m in a sad mood I find myself seeking out sad music. It’s kind of like stabbing yourself in the gut lol but I do it anyways.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

