PetSmart, your employees need some sensitivity training.

Me and my husband bought a lizard from there. A baby teeny tiny lizard who has since spontaneously passed away despite us following the exact diet (pinhead crickets, meal worms, powder supplement, water) and the buying all the lamps (UV, basking) all that crap.

This is partially my fault as I had too much faith in this company’s reputation. I researched, but not as in depth as I could have since I asked MANY questions while at the store regarding diet, appropriate temperature, tank accessories.

Turns out they sold him way too young. I went to a store that specialized in Reptiles and stayed for an hour talking to their employees. They said nearly 50% of baby beardies will have failure to thrive, and will simply stop eating or pass from genetic defects. This is why it is so unethical to sell them so young. There’s thousands of posts on forums about baby beardies dying with no warning when bought from pet stores such as this. It was the most heart breaking two hours of research I’ve ever done. Beardies have a lot of trouble with digestion, and even more so when they are young. You aren’t supposed to feed them anything bigger than the width between their eyes which goes against PetSmart’s suggestion of meal worms. Because the neck is so short on a bearded dragon, attempting to swallow something so large can actually snap their neck.

Turns out they suggested the wrong type of bulb for appropriate beardie digestion. It’s even in their pamphlet. And while the employees specifically told me to turn off their basking lamp at night, the bearded dragon breeder warned me specifically to never turn it off because they prefer temperatures upwards of 103.

I feel awful. I noticed he, my baby lizard, was not as active as normal, but he was also shedding and they supposedly do that when they shed. I misted him, and soaked him in warm water, which he seemed to love. I hand fed him pinhead crickets which, man those tiny things are hard to get ahold of.

And yet i woke up a couple days ago and he had passed. This is where it gets worse.

So I called the store. We’d only had him a few weeks. I was looking for information, an idea of what could have happened. Many places that have a vet they use will do exams to tell you if something went wrong or if they were sick.

I was crying, and the girl on the phone didn’t even say “sorry for your loss”.

She instantly went into a rehearsed speech about their 14 day policy and how they can’t do anything without a receipt. I tried to tell her I wasn’t necessarily looking for a refund, but that I had followed their exact instructions and wanted to know WHAT WENT WRONG. They have a vet at the store…I figured maybe they could do an exam.

She never apologized for our loss. Not once. Instead she goes “Well you know it costs 60 dollars, we can’t just give you a refund.”

At this point I cut her off and was like I know what the animal costs. I bought him for my husband as a christmas gift. In fact, I bought 300 dollars in supplies as well from your store. I just had to tell my husband that his baby christmas gift died. That was his pet”

She said she could have her manager call me. Her manager didn’t call me. The same girl did. They didn’t even bother to have a legit manager respond to my call. I am beyond angry.

I posted this complaint to PetSmart’s Facebook page¬†as well as their Twitter. They both replied with a generic “sorry for your loss” and directed me to their customer care email. I have emailed twice and they have not even responded. If anyone reading this would like to send them a message in support, I would greatly appreciate it. Obviously one customer is not worth their time.

To our little Chronic. I am so sorry if I hurt you somehow. I thought I was doing the right things. I followed the pamphlet and monitored your temperature and bought teeny tiny crickets for you. I misted you and sprinkled water on you to make sure you were drinking. Obviously that wasn’t enough. I hope you didn’t suffer. You really seemed fine the night before, so I pray you didn’t. We only had you a short time, but we loved you. We were hoping to have you for many years.

Late after we found you, when we were in bed, my husband whispered that he had held your body for so long, even though you were obviously gone, because he was waiting for you to wake up, like you usually did, and start moving again. We never would have hurt you on purpose.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. normalfornorfolkblog
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 11:12:35

    Poor little guy. I think the worst feeling is thinking that you done something to cause them suffering, but don’t beat yourself up. PetSmart as a company and their staff should be ashamed of themselves for putting profit ahead of animal welfare.

    Reply

  2. JohnnyNo
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 14:54:47

    I’m so sorry. Losing a pet always hurts.
    Luv ya. Tina

    Reply

  3. nosleepandcrazy
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 06:13:03

    I have emailed them more than once, I at first got a real response wanting more info and your info but since then, nothing. But you know what, I live 30 minutes away from petsmart and I have been making that drive due to my faith in them for months. But there is a feeder supply 17 minutes away that will now be getting my business for my 8 cats, 5 rats, 3 gerbils, 2 mice, 1 hermit crab and 1 ferret. I am sure anyone who reads this can see how much money I spend on pets…. but I will no longer be spending all that money at petsmart.

    Reply

  4. chris
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 13:59:49

    I’m sorry for your loss. This should never have happened. Some people are really incompent that work there. I know from experience… If you call petsmart and want to speak to a manager, press 0 while its saying its spiel. It goes directly yo the manager. Do you remember this girls name? Please when you speak with a manager, tell him/her everything about what you experienced with the lizard and the girl who answered the phone. Try googling the district manager for your stores contact info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

