Daffodils

I got sent home from school today. I told this boy named Tommy I could see his hurt. I could see it swirling in his eyes like blue water. Tommy said he just had blue eyes, but I know better. Some days the blue turns purple and leaks out onto his skin. I says to him I can see where it drips onto his arms. Tommy screams at me and runs away, so they sent me on home with a note pinned right to my shirt says I was worryin’ the other children. Momma says it’s because I’m a bad girl and I say things I shouldn’t say. Momma always tells me not to say such strange things. She tells me people oughtn’t talk that way, and I’m a pretty young girl and I need to talk like one. But I say Momma, why should I be that way? Why would I fill my head all up with light bulbs when I can have daffodils? Brilliant golds and oranges, bursting to life inside my head! Why Momma? But Momma, she just looks at me and shakes her head. She tells me I’m bothering her now and to go talk to Papa.

I show Papa the note. He tilts his head and frowns in this silly sorta way. I ask Papa if I’m a bad girl. He looks at me, eyes drooping down like they’re filled with oil. Pappa tells me not to listen to those people. That I’ll understand hate when I’m older. But I say Papa, I understand now! I see the hate, Papa. I see it! It’s there! I says to Papa I see it in them every day. It’s like it takes hold of them and just won’t let ‘em go. It crawls up through the floor and fills them up and eats them away. I’m afraid of it Papa.

But Papa, he just looks sad for a minute. He picks me up and sits me in his lap. He holds me close and I feel his shoulders shake. I tell Papa it’s all right. I know it’s all right. The hate can’t touch me, because I’m not like those people, but I’m not crazy. I know it, because Papa…

Papa sees the daffodils too. ©

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JohhnyNo
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 17:39:57

    I’ve spent my whole adult life either taking drugs or staying by myself, just so I don’t feel peoples’ pain screaming in my head. I wish more people gave out daffodils.

    Reply

  2. nosleepandcrazy
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 04:45:15

    I fucking love this. Makes me feel like I might survive

    Reply

Leave a Reply

