Just Keep On Beating

It breaks, it beats, it’s broken again

I feel it in my chest

Pumping blood through my veins like frozen fire.

It’s angry. It wants revenge.

It wants to just stop

But it keeps on beating, keeps on breaking

Pounding inside my body

Beating against my ribs

Bruising them.

I place my hand on the spot that burns

The spot that screams.

Please, I tell it

Just keep on beating

Through the pain

Through the rage.

Beat against the will to quit.

Beat against the will to die.

Pound for the right to be angry.

Pound for the right to move on.

Do not give out.

Just keep on beating.

Maybe one day it won’t break any more.©

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wallnp
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 11:39:53

    brilliant.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: cosmic footsteps. « Sick with Poetry.
  3. nosleepandcrazy
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 09:40:48

    Wow, I can feel what you were feeling when you wrote it.

    Reply

  4. psychofab
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 14:13:12

    Glad you like it. I have some new stuff I just need to sit down and actually type it. Maybe I’ll do that tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

