I have sharp sticks and I’m not afraid to use them.

So, has anyone heard about the whole it’s Thanksgiving thing?

No? Figures. it’s not like it’s Christmas or anything. But I have to say, I rather enjoy Thanksgiving. Despite me not actually talking to my extended family on a regular basis (unless you count fb comments) I am actually pretty family oriented.

I live for the traditions my mother and I have developed through the years and I love big family holidays.

Even when they include family that bugs the piss out of me.

What can I say? I get in the spirit and all that jazz. So every year we have a big family Thanksgiving dinner at my aunts house. it’s always about an hour late, and generally some sort of gravy explodes.

Ok, that was only the once, but it was pretty epic.

There have been some grumblings in the family this year because my aunt has begun renting out the bottom half of her house, and now there will only be *gasp* one bathroom for the party.

I think these grumblers need to really just shut up. It’s about being with family, and yes one bathroom is inconvenient, but good lord people not everyone has multiple bathrooms to survive day-to-day. I mean, how spoiled does it get?

This grumbling coming from people who grew up in a tiny house and shared a tiny bedroom with multiple not so tiny siblings.

Seriously.

It pisses me off that people would make a single comment because to be honest my aunt works SO HARD on Thanksgiving dinner. She calls everyone and organizes who brings what, she tries to clean up the house . She plans, and shops, and cooks, and ends up supermega frazzled…

All so she can put on a big beautiful dinner for all the family. A damn good one for the most part. Ya know, except that one gravy exploding incident.

And people are gonna grumble about the bathroom?

THANKSgiving people.

Thanks.

Don’t make me engrave it in your forehead with a sharpened stick. I could do it. I have many sticks in my yard as I fail epically at lawn care. And they could be pointed at you.

Just a reminder.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeneralinsanity
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 04:27:20

    I usually just threaten to beat people with a stick, but I think I like the idea of engraving it in someone’s forehead much better. I’m going to incorporate that into my list of idle threats.

    Reply

  2. Marie - Share my nonsense
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 08:09:22

    Ok, I’m not an American so we don’t do Thanksgiving but I’m taking a wild guess, it’s about being thankful…? Perhaps those family members need a gentle reminder about that before arriving at your aunts? And if that concept is too complicated to grasp, perhaps they should stay at home with a micro waved ready meal turkey dinner…?

    Reply

    • psychofab
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 09:40:38

      Yes, in theory it’s about being thankful, though I think in reality it mostly ends up being about pie lol and a microwave turkey would be justice for people who complain about being served a free decadent multi course meal.

      Reply

  3. nosleepandcrazy
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 05:22:28

    Yeah well if there had been two tubs, one toilet would have been PLENTY. Just sayin.

    Reply

  4. WaminsalmSing
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 03:56:18

    pretty nice post, i absolutely adore this site, keep on it

    Youth NFL Jerseys

    Reply

Leave a Reply

