Nightmare Post: Choking

I have god-awful nightmares.

Like the kind of detailed nightmares that would make a therapist assume either that I’m about 5 seconds from combusting into an explosion of contagious crazy fumes  so large and so intoxicating that will in turn trigger the swift end of the world, or that my subconscious is a homicidal maniac.

I’ll never tell which one is true.

mwahaha and stuff.

I also tend to have recurring nightmares. So, in an attempt to curb the most crazy of the crazy, I am going to start writing about them. Maybe you all can share some of your crazy too.

Recurring nightmare # uno:

I’ve had this dream twice in my life. It’s always so vivid and grotesque that I usually wake up feeling nauseated.

It starts off with me and someone I’m seeing walking down the road to my aunt’s house. She lives on the same street as my parents, and at the time of the dream it seems I’m still living with them.

I have this weird ache in my abdomen, but otherwise I seem physically fine. There isn’t any signs of what’s about to happen.

As we approach the house I realize that there’s a large party going on, some sort of cook out, and the majority of my family is there. As soon as I see people I start to get this panicked feeling. Something feels off, but when I try to tell the man I’m with he brushes it off.

Tells me to calm down and walks over to talk to some other people.

As soon as he turns his back I start to choke.  I can feel something hard and sharp scraping its way up the back of my throat, and I’m gagging, trying to throw it up.

It’s so hard to breathe that I’m on the ground and crying. I try to ask someone to help me but all they do is look on and continue with their conversation.

The panic gets worse because whatever it is has lodged its self so that I can’t breathe. My whole body is shaking and I’m heaving, crying. When I cough, small drops of blood sprinkle onto the ground.

No one will help me, so in desperation I open my mouth and push my fingers as far into my throat as I can.  I can feel something there, hard and slimy. I grab it and pull. It cuts my throat coming up and  a long stream of blood runs from my mouth. I look at what’s in my hand and realize it’s a bone.

I throw up, and more blood and various small bones come out. They look like finger bones.

Before I have a chance to ask anyone for help or catch a breath the choking starts again. By this point people are watching me, but no one will help. They seem angry.

I feel whatever’s inside me scraping its way back up. It’s round and solid.  I put my hand to my throat and I can feel where it’s lodged. This time it comes out on it’s own, and it’s a tiny skull.

It’s a tiny baby’s skull.

I start screaming, but I’m bleeding so badly that it comes out as a gurgle. Some of my family watch in silence. Some of them curse at me. I’m dizzy from blood loss.

I continue choking.

By the end of the dream I have thrown up an entire skeleton. I collapse next to the child’s body, bleeding out. I’m dying, but I don’t care. I don’t want to live after that.  The baby is tiny and covered in blood, but there is no flesh. The two times I’ve had this dream, I’ve never managed to wake up before it’s done.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. imp the sane
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 17:16:27

    ZOMG. DREAM ASSHOLES. Why wouldn’t they help you? I’ve only had awful, realistic dreams like that a couple of times that I remember, and they were horrifying. **hugs**

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 22:46:03

    Wow!! That’s a horrible dream… That would mess up the whole next day for me. And by mess up, I mean drink heavily until I black out…

    Hugs!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • psychofab
      Dec 06, 2012 @ 23:44:37

      Oh it did. I was so shaken I actually called into work and stayed home. It has to be the most graphic and bone chilling nightmare I’ve ever had, and that’s really saying something.

      Reply

  3. nosleepandcrazy
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 06:27:15

    Holy hell, that was a bad one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

