Nightmare Post: Darkness

I wake up in a room. It’s usually a large room, or perhaps a couple consecutive rooms that are not closed off from one another. It’s impossible to tell because it’s pitch black. If there are windows then they have been covered or bricked over. I never find one when i’m searching.

I don’t know how I got there, or how long I’ve been asleep. I usually start by crawling around, feeling the floor around me to get some idea of what’s near me. There’s usually furniture, almost like a living room.

Sometimes while I’m moving around I find a body. I’m too frightened to check for a pulse, but I’m pretty sure they’re dead.

Sometimes there is one door, with a small crack of light seeping beneath it. This door is always locked, and only offers me enough light to make it harder for my eyes to try and adjust.

Sometimes I can’t find anything resembling a door, and I have no idea how anyone could get in or out.

Most of the time I am aware there is someone else in the room as well, but I know they aren’t captive. I can hear them breathing, or the shuffling of feet. I feel as though they can see me somehow, and while I’m moving around trying to find a way out this person will brush against me, poke me, or move items into my path.

I know they are evil, but that’s it. I never get out of the room.

Once, I managed to find a hole in the wall and crawled inside, waiting to see if whoever was watching me would come for me, or perhaps panic that I had escaped and reveal themself.

This nightmare seems to go on forever, and is especially upsetting because when I do manage to wake myself up I’m usually still in a dark room. It also plays on loop, so no matter how many times I wake up I get dropped back into it as soon as I lay down again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seasweetie
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 11:53:49

    Dream analysis: You feel trapped and don’t know who you are. I believe it is you that you find on the floor, and you in the darkness, other parts of you. But maybe that’s the obvious dream analysis.

    Reply

  2. nosleepandcrazy
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 05:30:57

    Such happy dreams we have, dear sister of mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

