Ghost Sounds

No, no. I don’t mean like “Boo!” or “OOOOoooOOOoOooO” or whatever other cliche sound you think paranormal figures create to scare the shite out of us in the middle of the night.

I mean, that crazy thing that my head does to me, to make me feel like I need to rip my ears off and run screaming into a sensory deprivation tank.

Now, I’m not sure if anyone else does this. I’m sure a few of you do, but I dare to doubt that many of you do this to quite the same extent I do.

Ghost sounds…this is what I call it when a simple sound, usually high pitched or repetitive, continues inside my head after the actual sound has ceased to exist. It’s like a part of that sound continues to live on, even though it’s reality is no more.

And it drives me absolutely insane.

I don’t necessarily mean that figuratively, either. I once stuffed my ears with ear plugs, covered my head with the pillow and blanket, then actively counted inside my head to try and drown the sound out. It didn’t work, and eventually I ended up sobbing pathetically into my mattress because it was 4am, and not only was I not sure that the sound was going to stop, but I had to get up at 7am for work.

Generally speaking, the more I try to ignore it, the louder it gets, too. Which, try not not ignoring a loud screeching sound when you’re absolutely exhausted.

I bring this up because there are a few specific things that like to trigger my ghost sounds.

Alarms that beep instead of wailing

When the fan gets rusty and starts to make weird whirring noises

tapping

MOTHERFUCKING TORNADO SIRENS.

Which, being in the Louisville area, meant that I was driven absolutely nuts last night. Tornado sirens going off from 3-4:30am.

The worse thing is when you aren’t entirely sure if it’s real or imagined. I realized eventually that no siren was actually going off because, not only had all signs of the storm passed, but my husband looked at me like I was bonkers when I complained about the noise…which he, of course, was not hearing.

The worst thing, is when you are comfortable in the belief that the annoying sound you hear is real and can be stopped, only to get up and turn the fan off…and still hear the fucking whirring.

I’m just wondering.

Does this shit happen to any of you??? And if so, have any of you figured out a way to make it stop?

Leave a Reply

