The Day I Couldn’t Find Dad

When we got to my parents house today we couldn’t find dad. At first, we thought he was upstairs so i made a sandwich for lunch and visited with mom. But then we realized he wasn’t there, and he wasn’t on the deck, and his car was here. 

And I noticed Bella, his dog, out on the other side of the lake. We yelled for him. No answer. So I started walking around to the other side of the lake. 

And as I rounded the corner I saw his fishing pole, and his chair, but not him.

And I walked a little farther and then I saw him, on the ground, pale, flat on his back with his feet in the brush at the edge of the water.

And I screamed. And he didn’t move. And I thought he was dead.

I thought my dad was dead today. 

The second time I screamed he opened his eyes. And I ran over and asked him what happened, but he was disoriented and kept looking around. He wouldn’t respond and his eyes weren’t focusing on anything.

I said, you don’t know how you got here, so you?

And he shook his head. And I helped him get up, and I helped him get back to the house.

He doesn’t know what happened. He doesn’t remember.

And I don’t think I can be ok now. I thought my dad was dead, his body sprawled on the ground, pale, with dirt in his hair. And I’m so scared. 

Leave a Reply

